PLC Workshop 2015

Programming Models, Languages and Compilers for Manycore and Heterogeneous Architectures

Hyderabad International Convention Centre

Hyderabad, India, May 25, 2015

Co-located with 29th IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium(IPDPS 2015)

Call for Papers  
Important Dates
Submission Guide
Technical Program
Previous Workshops

PLC 2015 EVENT to see plc2015 galerry


Call for Papers

Three essential pillars to successful parallel computing - Productivity, Portability, Performance. Creating software for heterogeneous systems can be quite complex especially when the low-level details need to be managed and abstracted from the programmer. Emerging standards are providing an incremental development to target heterogeneous architectures, be it NVIDIA, ARM, Intel or AMD. We all know software is an expensive investment. Portability is necessary, ensuring long lifetime of the software and thus reducing the maintenance cost. Other challenges include locality and memory issues, load balancing, hiding latency with concurrency and so on.
This workshop aims to brainstorm ways to make programming heterogeneous systems less challenging and more interesting. We believe that this workshop will provide a forum for the presentation and discussions of research on all aspects of heterogeneous systems programming models, compiler optimizations, language extensions, and software tools for such systems.

Areas of interest include but are not limited to the following topics:

  • Multicore processors, Heterogeneous systems, Accelerators
  • Programming models: thread and task based models, data parallel models, stream programming
  • Programming environments for heterogeneous systems
    • OpenMP for Accelerator
    • OpenACC
    • OpenCL/CUDA or other related models
  • Compiler optimizations and tuning heterogeneous systems
    • Parallelization and loop transformations
    • Locality optimizations
    • SIMDization/Vectorization
    • Reducing synchronization and scheduling overheads on heterogeneous systems
    • Tiling, parametric tiling and offloading
  • Runtime systems for multicore processors, heterogeneous systems, accelerators
  • Debuggers, and performance analysis tools for heterogeneous system and accelerators
  • Application and Benchmarks

Important Dates:

  • Paper Submission Deadline [EXTENDED]: January 19th, 2015 AOE (Anytime on Earth)
  • Paper Acceptance Notification: February 15th, 2015
  • Camera Ready Due: February 25th, 2015
  • Workshop Date: May 25th, 2015

Submission Guidelines

Papers should present original research and should provide sufficient background material to make them accessible to the broader community.

Submitted manuscripts may not exceed ten (10) single-spaced double-column pages using 10-point size font on 8.5x11 inch pages (IEEE conference style), including figures, tables, and references (Please check IPDPS Call for Papers for more details). All papers will be peer-reviewed.

The complete symposium and workshop proceedings will be published and available in the IEEE Digital Library.

The final camera ready version of your paper must be uploaded as a PDF file through the Easy Chair submission link. To prepare your camera ready paper, please follow instructions in Camera Ready. Papers should be submitted electronically through the workshop web site at easyChair: EasyChair for PLC15


General Chair:

Steering Committee:

  • Guang R. Gao, University of Delaware, US
  • Xinmin Tian, Intel, US
  • Wenguang Chen, Tsinghua University, China
  • Michael Wong, IBM, Canada

Program Chair:

  • Sunita Chandrasekaran, University of Houston, US

Program committee:

  • Dhananjay M. Dhamdhere, IIT Powai, India
  • Matthias Muller, TU Dresden, Germany
  • Kamesh Madduri, Pennsylvania State University, US
  • Henry Jin, NASA, US
  • Dharanipragada Janakiram, IIT, Madras, India
  • Barry Rountree, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Stephen Olivier, Sandia National Laboratories, US
  • Jeff Hammond, Intel, US
  • Piotr Luszczek, University of Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Dounia Khaldi, University of Houston, US
  • Mahantesh M Halappanavar, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, US
  • John Lidel, Micron, US
  • James Beyer, Cray Inc, US
  • Yuan Lin, NVIDIA, US
  • Guido Juckeland, TU Dresden
  • Seeyong Lee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, US
  • Yin Lu, Texas Tech University, US
  • Kishore Kothapalli, IIIT, Hyderabad, India

Publicity Chair:

  • Rezaul Karim Raju, University of Houston, US